Uncategorized

Harvest Apple Salad Jars

img_1015One thing I’ve struggled with for as long as I can remember, is remembering to pack a lunch for work!

I make sure my kids have their lunches packed, my husband has the basics to make a sandwich, and then lunchtime comes while I’m at work and guess who doesn’t have anything to eat? Me.

I know if I wait until the morning, or even the night before to pack my lunch, it just isn’t going to happen. I get busy! And I get lazy! I’m definitely not ashamed to admit that!

However, I’ve found if I prep lunches for the whole week in advance, it really gets me on track.

These Harvest Apple Salad Jars are one of my favorite go-to recipes! I make them on Sunday evening, and every morning I have a fresh salad waiting for me in the refrigerator. I throw the jar in my bag, stash it in the refrigerator at work, and come lunch time I have a healthy and easy meal ready to be eaten. I just dump the jar into a bowl or onto a plate, give the salad a stir, and enjoy!

Watch the video to see how easy these are to make!

Salad Ingredients

  • Chopped Lettuce (I use about 4 cups of romaine)
  • Cooked Chicken (About 6-8 ounces of whatever you have on hand)
  • 2 Apples, diced
  • 1 Cup Dried Cranberries
  • Crumbles Feta Cheese
  • 1 Cup chopped walnuts

Apple Cider Vinaigrette Dressing

  • 3 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 Tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 1 Teaspoon onion powder
  • 4 Teaspoons Dijon mustard
  • 4 Teaspoons Honey
  • 1/2 Teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 Teaspoon pepper

Instructions

  1. Combine dressing ingredients in a small bowl. Whisk together.
  2. Place 3-4 tablespoons of dressing in the bottom of each mason jar.
  3. Layer in the rest of the salad ingredients in the following order:
    • Chicken, apples, cranberries, feta, walnuts, lettuce.
  4. Make sure lettuce is packed in tightly, completely filling the jar.
  5. Screw on the top and jar lid to seal your salads.
  6. Refrigerator for up to 4 days.
  7. When ready to eat, dump into a bowl or plate – stir, and enjoy!

 

img_1016

 

2 thoughts on “Harvest Apple Salad Jars

Leave a Reply

