Uncategorized

GROCERY SHOPPING SANITY SAVERS – WEEK 1: ALDI

gsss-logo

Anyone else really dislike grocery shopping?

You’re not alone!

It’s not my favorite thing to do, in fact it ranks pretty low. Yet, it has to be done. Week in and week out.. it has to be done.

Being something that I have no choice but to do, I’ve tried to find ways to make grocery shopping a little more enjoyable.

Each Sunday for the rest of the month, I’ll be sharing my Grocery Shopping Sanity Savers, for when going to the store at 10:00am on a Tuesday to avoid the crowds, just isn’t an option.

My biggest tip?

Drum roll please….

ALDI.

Yep – that’s it.

Watch the video to learn more!

If you’re from my neck of the woods, you may or may not be aware of the Aldi that opened recently in the Commerce area. Don’t be afraid. Just give it a chance! Change can be very good!

One of the reasons  I feel like Aldi has saved my grocery shopping sanity, is the prices alone. Most items they carry are FAR cheaper than I can find at Sam’s Club, Kroger, or Meijer. How do they offer items at such a great price?

  • They don’t bag your groceries. They also require you to bring your own bags. I believe you can purchase bags from them for under $0.10 per bag at the store, but I always just grab the reusable ones we have at home before I leave. When you check out, they will (very quickly) scan all of your items and put them right back into an empty cart. After you pay, you can move to a side counter area and bag them yourself.
  •  They don’t employ someone to retrieve carts from the parking lot. You’ll need to pay a quarter to use a cart. Don’t worry – when you return the cart, you’ll get the quarter back. See how that works? Smart Aldi, smart.
  • They carry very few “name brand” items. If you can learn to be non-brand specific, you will LOVE Aldi. The “name brand” items are usually priced really high, so don’t fall into the trap! However, I recently learned that Aldi and Trader Joe’s are the same brand. They just don’t offer as many varieties as Trader Joe’s.

I used to be pretty brand specific. But, once I saw how Aldi’s prices stacked up to items I’d find at my other go-to stores.. I just *had* to let the name brands go.

Another way Aldi has saved my grocery shopping sanity is the ease of completing a shopping trip there. I went there Saturday to get a week’s worth of groceries for my family of four, and I was in and out in under 30 minutes.

Aldi stores are considerably smaller than most retailers because for the most part, they don’t offer a large variety of options. If you need ketchup, there’s only one kind to choose from. Juice boxes? One brand, three flavors. It definitely took some getting used to, but I have grown to LOVE it. Another plus to a smaller store? If you forget an item and realize it toward the end of your shopping trip, you only have to go over one or two aisle’s to find what you missed.

Do you love shopping Aldi? Leave a comment to share your thoughts. I’d love to hear any tips I may be missing!

3 thoughts on “GROCERY SHOPPING SANITY SAVERS – WEEK 1: ALDI

Leave a Reply

